All eyes on Mamata vs Suvendu in Nandigram as Bengal, Assam head for phase 2 voting

With the ballot season absolutely underway in India amid the shadow of Covid-19, Assam and West Bengal will vote tomorrow in the second phase of meeting elections in each states.

While greater than 75 lakh voters will determine the destiny of 191 candidates on 30 seats in West Bengal, over 73.44 lakh voters will select between 345 candidates in 39 meeting constituencies in Assam.

Despite the eight-phase meeting election, West Bengal will see its greatest struggle tomorrow as CM Mamata Banerjee goes up towards former aide-turned-challenger Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram.

Meanwhile, in Assam, the destiny of 5 ministers, the deputy speaker and some important opposition faces might be determined on Thursday.

Results for the elections might be introduced on May 2.


In Bengal, the TMC and BJP are contesting in all of the 30 seats, whereas CPI(M) is in the fray in 15 and its alliance companions of Sanjukta Morcha the Congress and ISF are competing in 13 and two seats respectively.

Voting will happen on 10,620 cubicles throughout Purba Medinipur, Paschim Medinipur, South 24 Parganas and in Bankura.

Apart from id politics and Bengali sub-nationalism, the demand for jobs, the inclusion of Hindu backward communities in the OBC class and the establishing of agro-based trade have emerged as main poll planks in the second phase of polls.

Of the 30 seats which can see voting on Thursday, 23 have been received by TMC in the 2016 meeting elections, 5 by Left Front and Congress and BJP one every.

The political equation in the state had modified in 2019 when BJP made massive inroads in the tribal-dominated Jangal Mahal region and Medinipur belt by sweeping all of the 5 Lok Sabha seats. The TMC, nevertheless, has been capable of keep its dominance in the South 24 Parganas district, the place there’s a sizeable minority inhabitants.

Polling to happen beneath heavy safety cowl

All 10,620 cubicles the place polling might be held this phase have been declared as sensitive by the Election Commission, which has deployed round 651 firms of central forces to offer safety.

Besides, the state police will also be deployed at strategic locations in the course of the polling which can start at 7 am.

A complete of 199 firms of the Central Armed Police Force might be deployed in Purba Medinipur, 210 firms in Paschim Medinipur, 170 in South 24 Parganas and 72 in Bankura.

Polling will happen amid strict Covid-19 pointers in 9 seats of Paschim Medinipur, eight in Bankura, 4 seats in South 24 Parganas and 9 in Purba Medinipur.

Didi vs Dada: Who will Nandigram select?

All eyes will be on Nandigram on Thursday the place TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee is locked in a fierce status battle with confidante-turned-adversary Suvendu Adhikari of the BJP.

The agrarian constituency in Purba Medinipur district had shaken the foundations of the mighty Left regime over the anti-farmland acquisition motion in 2007. It has now was a battleground of titans with Banerjee immediately deciding to change from her Bhowanipur seat in Kolkata to the constituency which is held by Suvendu Adhikari.

In the excessive stake ballot battle this time a victory is a must for Mamata Banerjee, who’s working for the third successive time period as the chief minister in order that she will be able to lead the federal government and preserve collectively her get together, which is confronted with exodus.

For Suvendu Adhikari it’s (*2*) and may additionally put a query mark on his political graph in his new get together the BJP. A victory wouldn’t solely set up him as one of many tallest leaders in Bengal however would additionally push him few miles forward of others in the Chief Ministerial race in case the BJP is voted to energy.

For the Congress-Left-ISF alliance candidate Minakshi Mukherjee, the problem is to regain her get together’s misplaced floor.

READ | Battle for Nandigram: Booth-wise data shows Trinamool dominance, but who was the architect?

Other notable contests

A notable seat going to the ballot in the second phase is Sabang, the place TMC has fielded its Rajya Sabha MP Manas Bhunia. He is up towards TMC turncoat and BJP chief Amulya Maity.

Bhunia, a former state Congress president, had received the seat from 1982 until 2016 as Congress nominee earlier than switching over to the TMC in September 2016.

READ | Top battles, close contests and tainted candidates: Decoding Phase 2 elections in West Bengal

TMC has fielded actor Sayantika Banerjee, a preferred face on the Bengali silver display, from Bankura seat towards BJP’s Niladri Sekhar Dana. The Sanjukta Morcha has fielded Congress candidate Radharani Banerjee.

In the Debra seat, two former IPS officers will cross swords. One is BJP candidate Bharati Ghosh and the opposite is Humayun Kabir of the TMC. Both had resigned from their senior police posts to affix lively politics.


In Assam, 345 candidates, together with 26 girls, are in the fray in this phase, the polling for which might be held from 7 am to six pm amid heavy safety and strict Covid-19 pointers.

The ruling BJP is contesting 34 seats, whereas its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) are preventing in six and three seats, respectively.

There are “friendly contests” between the BJP and the AGP in Patharkandi and Algapur, whereas the BJP is engaged in comparable fights with the UPPL in Majbat and Kalaigaon.

The Grand Alliance’s Congress is contesting in 28 seats, the AIUDF in seven and Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF) in 4. The newly-formed Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) is contesting in 19 seats.

There is a direct contest between the NDA and the Grand Alliance in 25 constituencies, whereas the remaining are witnessing triangular fights.

The elections might be held amid tight safety with 310 firms of forces being deployed for the second phase, an official mentioned.

Round-the-clock patrolling is being carried out together with strict vigil in essential areas in all of the constituencies unfold over 13 districts in Barak Valley, the Hills districts and components of Central and Lower Assam.

A constable and a house guard might be deployed in every polling station with sector and zonal law enforcement officials to watch the state of affairs.

Five ministers in ballot fray

BJP minister Parimal Suklabaidya is in a direct contest with Congress’s Kamakhya Prasad Mala in Dholai, whereas Deputy Speaker Aminul Haque Laskar of the BJP is in a straight contest with AIUDF’s Karim Uddin Barbhuiyan in Sonai.

Minister Pijush Hazarika is locked in a triangular contest with Congress’s Swapan Kumar Mandal and AJP’s Bubul Das from Jagiroad (SC), and his cupboard colleague Bhabesh Kalita is in a direct struggle with AJP’s Babul Saharia in the Rangiya constituency.

Five ministers to check their electoral destiny in Assam

Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary is preventing towards BPF’s Karuna Kanta Swargiary in Paneri, whereas AIUDF’s Sirajuddin Ajmal, a former MP and MLA, is preventing the elections towards AGP’s Sadikullah Bhuyan from Jamunamukh.

In Silchar, sitting BJP MLA Dilip Paul, now expelled from the get together, is contesting as an Independent and is locked in a contest with BJP’s Dipayan Chakraborty and Congress’s Tamal Kanti Banik.

Another BJP minister, Sum Ronghang, on being denied ticket joined the Congress and is locked in a direct struggle towards BJP’s Bidya Sing Engleng in Diphu.

READ | Assam Election: Five ministers, deputy speaker in fray as 39 constituencies go to polls in phase 2

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.