Former journalist Veena George replaces Shailaja as Kerala Health Minister in Covid era

Journalist-turned- politician Veena George will helm Kerala’s Health Ministry in the successive LDF cupboard, changing KK Shailaja at a time when the state is witnessing an unprecedented Covid-19 surge.

KK Shailaja, 64, was the face of Kerala’s mannequin of Covid-19 administration who additionally excelled in the position of well being minister in assembly the challenges of the Nipah virus outbreak (2018).

Shailaja’s non-inclusion, after she played a leading role in the fight against Covid-19, had created a flutter and varied sections of society, together with celebrities, had batted for her reinstatement.

Some CPM leaders, together with Brinda Karat, additionally objected to the removing of Shailaja from the brand new cupboard. However, to some political observers, the rising recognition of Shailaja may also have labored towards her.

A former physics trainer, Shailaja’s recognition was mirrored in her electoral victory from Mattanur constituency in the Kannur district. Shailaja received the seat with the very best margin of over 60,000 votes in the Kerala Assembly election.

Veena George: The New Face of Health Dept In Kerala

Veena George is a two-time legislator who represents Aranmula constituency in the Kerala meeting. With her induction in the Pinarayi Vijayan-led LDF coalition cupboard, Veena George earned a uncommon achievement of being the primary lady journalist to achieve the place in Kerala.

Known for her management qualities, well-articulated speech and matured interactions, Veena George’s title was being extensively speculated for the difficult publish for the reason that Marxist celebration started dialogue for portfolio allocation.

A shock entrant in the ballot fray, George had defeated her nearest rival Sivadasan Nair of Congress by a margin of seven,646 votes in the 2016 election.

She unsuccessfully contested in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Her management was extensively praised throughout the time of flood reduction in Pathanamthitta in 2018 and 2019.

Before plunging into politics, she had a placing profession in visible media for over 15 years as she had been a longtime information anchor in outstanding Malayalam channels together with Manorama News and Reporter TV.

As a TV persona, she was the co-presenter of “Naam Munnott”, the tv programme in which Vijayan used to work together with choose viewers.

A mom of two, George was famous for her in-depth questions and political analyses throughout her TV media stint and received a number of awards additionally for journalistic excellence.

A rank holder of MSc (Physics) and B.Ed, George started her political profession as an activist of Students Federation of India (SFI), a wing of the CPI(M).

She additionally tried her hand at educating for a brief interval earlier than starting the media profession.

A member of the CPI(M) Pathanamthitta space committee, Veena George was given the difficult portfolio of Health when the Marxist celebration was dealing with extreme backlash, particularly on social media platforms for not retaining Shailaja, who had received world approval for her deft management in checking the Covid-19 surge, in the brand new cupboard.

Expectations are excessive on the 45-year-old to match as much as Shaialaja’s work in Covid administration.

Besides tackling the covid pandemic scenario in an efficient method, Veena George additionally has an added problem of showcasing a greater efficiency than her illustrious predecessor in the state’s well being sector.

Besides Veena George, two different ladies legislators additionally discovered a spot in the Vijayan cupboard, the very best in current occasions.

R Bindhu, spouse of CPI(M) appearing state secretary A Vijayaraghavan, would maintain the Higher Education and Social Justice portfolios whereas J Chinchurani, the first-ever lady minister of CPI, acquired Animal Husbandry and Dairy Development.

Also Read : KK Shailaja out, son-in-law in: What’s the fuss about Pinarayi Vijayan’s new cabinet?

Also Read: Kerala Election Results 2021: LDF retains power with wins 99 seats, here’s the list of winners

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.