From Shaun Marsh to KL Rahul: A look at the list of IPL Orange Cap winners from 2008 to 2020

From Australia’s Shaun Marsh in the inaugural IPL version to Punjab Kings captain KL Rahul topping the charts in IPL 2020, right here’s a full list of Orange Cap winners throughout the 13 seasons of the marquee T20 league.

IPL 2008- Shaun Marsh (Punjab Kings)

In a improbable trendsetting efficiency in the inaugural version of the IPL, Australia’s Shaun Marsh scored a large 616 runs averaging an infinite 68.44 with a powerful strike fee of virtually 140 for the Punjab Kings.

Matches performed: 11, Runs: 616, Avg: 68.44, Strike Rate: 139.68 100s: 1, 50s: 5

IPL 2009 – Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings)

Matthew Hayden, even after his worldwide retirement in early 2009, proved his mettle with a strong efficiency for Chennai Super Kings in the second version of the IPL. CSK, nevertheless, misplaced the playoffs to RCB and failed to qualify for the ultimate.

Matches performed: 12, Runs: 572, Avg: 52, Strike Rate: 144.81, 100s: -, 50s: 5

IPL 2010 – Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)

Sachin Tendulkar, the then captain of the Mumbai Indians, had a superb IPL season with the bat and accrued 618 runs for his crew. The Master Blaster additionally led his crew to the ultimate however they ended as runners up after shedding to CSK.

Matches performed: 15, Runs: 618, Avg: 47.53, Strike Rate: 132.61, 100s: -, 50s: 5

IPL 2011 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

The final rise of Chris Gayle in the T20 format was inevitable and the large of a batsman amassed 608 runs in the 4th version of the Indian Premier League for the RCB facet. His strike fee of 183 units him aside from all Orange Cap holders.

Matches: 12, Runs: 608, Avg: 67.55, Strike Rate: 183.13, 100s: 2, 50s: 3

IPL 2012 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

The 2012 season of the IPL was highlighted by one other large present orchestrated by Chris Gayle, at his prime, as the Windies famous person received again to again Orange Caps in the match.

Matches: 15, Runs: 733, Avg: 61.08, Strike Rate: 160.74, 100s: 1, 50s: 7

IPL 2013 – Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings)

Michael Hussey’s contribution in taking Chennai Super Kings to the ultimate was large in the 2013 IPL version. The Australian batsman, often called Mr Cricket, accrued 733 runs at a mean of over 50, however Mumbai Indians ended up successful the title that season.

Matches: 17, Runs: 733, Avg: 52.35, Strike Rate: 129.5, 100s: -, 50s: 6

IPL 2014 – Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders)

With Trevor Bayliss teaching the facet and Gautam Gambhir as captain, Kolkata Knight Riders went from darkish horses to champions in 2012. In 2014, they claimed their second title beneath the identical management however the actual driving drive was Robin Uthappa whose batting masterclass was the spotlight.

Matches: 16, Runs: 660, Avg: 44, Strike Rate: 137.78, 100s: -, 50s: 5

IPL 2015 – David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Sunrisers Hyderabad made their debut simply two seasons in the past (in 2013) however couldn’t qualify for the playoffs in 2015. However, David Warner successful the Orange Cap that season made it a spotlight for the followers of the franchise.

Matches: 14, Runs: 562, Avg: 43.23, Strike Rate: 156.54, 100s: -, 50s: 7

IPL 2016 – Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli’s run tally in 2016 nonetheless stays the highest in a single version of the marquee T20 league. RCB made it to the ultimate of IPL 2016 however misplaced to SRH.

Matches: 16, Runs: 973, Avg: 81.08, Strike Rate: 152.03, 100s: 4, 50s: 7

IPL 2017 – David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

After Virat Kohli’s mindblowing season with 973 runs, David Warner adopted it up with 641 runs in the 2017 version of the marquee T20 league. Sunrisers Hyderabad had claimed the title in IPL 2016 however misplaced the playoff battle towards KKR in 2017.

Matches: 14, Runs: 641, Avg: 58.27, Strike Rate: 141.81, 100s: 1, 50s: 4

IPL 2018- Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Before 2018, the New Zealand captain was barely recognised as a superb participant of the T20 format. The 2018 IPL season was the aptest alternative for Kane Williamson to show himself particularly in the absence of David Warner. Not solely did captain Kane take SRH to the ultimate but in addition received the Orange Cap.

Matches: 17, Runs: 735, Avg: 52.5, Strike Rate: 142.44, 100s: -, 50s: 8

IPL 2019 – David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner grew to become the first participant to win the Orange Cap 3 instances in IPL historical past in IPL 2019. Before 2019, the Australian open received the cap in the 2017 and 2019 editions. Sunrisers Hyderabad, who had misplaced the ultimate in 2018, reached the playoffs in 2019 backed by the efforts of David Warner and his opening associate Jonny Bairstow.

Matches: 12, Runs: 692, Avg: 69.2, Strike Rate: 143.86, 100s: 1, 50s: 8

IPL 2020- KL Rahul (Punjab Kings)

His crew may need ended up at the sixth place in the IPL 2020 factors desk, however Punjab Kings skipper KL Rahul is correct up in the prime run-scorers list of this season. The 670 runs that he amassed at a mean of 55.83 whereas putting at 129.34, additionally contains 5 fifty-plus scores and 100.

Matches: 14, Runs: 670, Avg: 55.83, Strike Rate: 129.34, 100s: 1, 50s: 5

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.