Here’s how star power performed in West Bengal elections

As each the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Trinamool Congress (TMC) banked on star power to achieve voters’ confidence in the 2021 meeting elections in West Bengal, many in the saffron camp failed to the touch a chord with the plenty.

The largest takeaway was that it was not merely star power, however the occasion as properly that the voters had been focussing on earlier than making their alternative on the poll field.

Here is a take a look at theatre and movie personalities and cricketers who made their mark for his or her respective events:



June Maliah

The former Bengali movie actress, June Maliah just lately entered politics and contested from the Medinipur Assembly constituency towards BJP’s Samit Kumar. June Maliah secured 52.13 per cent votes whereas Samit Kumar secured 40.49 per cent votes.

From being seen in motion pictures equivalent to Har Har Byomkesh and Meri Pyari Bindu, the actress selected to take her time earlier than donning the political hat.

Manoj Tiwary

The cricketer who stood towards BJP chief Rathin Chakrabarty received towards his opponent, a validation of TMC’s “Khela Hobe” slogan that went on to efficiently break the ice with voters to fight BJP’s laborious jibes towards Mamata Banerjee and her occasion. Manoj Tiwary received 6,150 votes (50.69 per cent).

Also Read | Why did the BJP lose Bengal 2021?

Raj Chakraborty

Bengali actor and filmmaker Raj Chakraborty managed to wrestle out BJP candidate Chandramani Shukla in the saffron occasion’s bastion. Fighting from Barrackpore constituency in the North 24 Parganas district, Raj received 46.47 per cent votes in Bengal Assembly polls.

Kanchan Mullick

The TMC candidate from Uttarpara constituency, Kanchan Mullick received by 41.71 per cent votes towards BJP’s Prabir Ghoshal who received 28.96 per cent votes.

Aditi Munshi

Kirtan singer Aditi Munshi breezed previous BJP’s heavyweight candidate Shamik Bhattacharya in Rajarhat Gopalpur constituency. The singer was no match for Bhattacharya in this TMC bastion as she received 87,650 votes towards Shamik Bhattacharya’s 62,354 votes.

Chiranjeet Chakrabarti

Chiranjeet Chakrabarti received the Barasat Assembly constituency on a TMC ticket. Chiranjeet Chakrabarti was pitted towards BJP’s Sankar Chatterjee. Chiranjeet Chakrabarti received 104,431 (46.27 per cent) votes towards Sankar Chatterjee who bagged 80,648 votes.

Also Read | Six party workers killed, houses, shops vandalised by TMC, alleges Bengal BJP. MHA seeks report

Indranil Sen

The singer was instrumental in TMC retaining the Chandannagar seat by securing 47.63 per cent vote share and defeating BJP’s Deepanjan Kumar Guha who bagged 33,702 votes (18.5 per cent).

Bratya Basu

Bengal Minister and theatre artist Bratya Basu proved to be on a profitable streak but once more by securing the Dum Dum constituency. He received 87,999 votes towards BJP’s Bimalshankar Nanda who secured 61,268 votes.


Ashoke Dinda

Cricketer Ashoke Dinda who has represented home cricket for nearly 15 years received from Moyna constituency by 1,200 votes on a BJP ticket. In a two-cornered combat, Dinda was pitted towards TMC’s incumbent MLA Sangram Kumar Dolai.



Saayoni Ghosh

Singer and actress Saayoni Ghosh misplaced to BJP chief and clothier Agnimitra Paul from Asansol Dakshin constituency. Agnimitra Paul received by 1,800 votes.

Also Read | The Deep Dive: TMC Did Exceedingly Well On Tougher Seats

Sayantika Banerjee

The actress and TMC’s Bankura constituency candidate Sayantika Banerjee misplaced to BJP’s Niladri Sekhar Dana by near 2,059 votes. The actress’s star power failed to chop ice with the voters of Bankura who’ve seen star candidate Moon Moon Sen profitable this Lok Sabha seat in 2014 on a TMC ticket.

Koushani Mukherjee

The actress was no match for BJP heavyweight candidate Mukul Roy in Krishnagar Uttar constituency. Mukul Roy received 109,357 votes and Koushani Mukherjee, contesting on a TMC ticket, received 74,268 votes.


Babul Supriyo

Singer and Asansol Lok Sabha MP Babul Supriyo didn’t minimize ice with voters in Tollygunge, which homes majority of studios the place tv sequence and flicks are shot. The incumbent TMC MLA Aroop Biswas retained the seat for the TMC.

Yash Dasgupta

Bengali movie actor Yash Dasgupta did not safe Chanditala seat for the BJP. TMC retained the seat. Swati Khandoker, the incumbent MLA stole the present for the TMC.

Parno Mitra

Bengali actress Parno Mitra misplaced the Baranagar seat to TMC’s Tapas Roy. While Tapas Roy received 53.42 per cent votes, Parno Mitra bagged solely 31.49 per cent of votes.

Also Read | From ideologies to caste: The emerging identity politics in West Bengal elections

Swapan Dasgupta

The Rajya Sabha nominated MP Swapan Dasgupta stepped right down to contest from Tarakeshwar on a BJP ticket. However, he misplaced to Ramendu Sinharay who received 96,698 votes. Swapan Dasgupta had received 89,214 votes.

Locket Chatterjee

Hoogly Lok Sabha MP Locket Chatterjee did not win the Chunchura meeting seat which falls throughout the identical Lok Sabha constituency. She was defeated by Trinamool Congress’s Asit Mazumder.

Paayel Sarkar

Actress Paayel Sarkar did not win towards TMC’s candidate Ratna Chatterjee in Behala Purba constituency. Ratna received 110,968 votes, whereas Paayel received 73,540 votes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.