IPL winners list from 2008 to 2020: Can Mumbai Indians become 1st team to clinch hat-trick of titles?

Defending champions Mumbai Indians have a chance to do one thing in IPL historical past that no different team thus far has been in a position to do – to win a hat-trick of titles.

The Rohit Sharma-led facet final season managed to break their odd-year win sample, after they received a second successive title by defeating Delhi Capitals in IPL 2020 finals. Previously that they had received their titles in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019.

With the core members of the team nonetheless intact for IPL 2021 and with some of their different kids corresponding to Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan occurring to make their T20I debut for India based mostly on their performances for the franchise, all eyes are on them to see if they are often the primary team to win a hat-trick of titles.

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings are the one different team within the historical past of IPL to win two successive titles after they received the trophy in 2010 and 2011. However, they missed out on the hat-trick alternative as Gautam Gambhir-led Kolkata Knight Riders beat them within the IPL 2012 last to win their maiden title.

Here is a glance again on the IPL winners from 2008 to 2020.

IPL 2008:

There was a last-ball end to the inaugural version of IPL as Rajasthan Royals beat Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets to win the title. Shane Warne-led RR have been chasing 164 runs within the match, they usually received it on the final ball after they wanted to rating 1 run off the ultimate ball.

IPL 2009:

It was one other thrilling last as Adam Gilchrist-led Deccan Chargers set solely a low goal of 144 runs for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, with the assistance of a Herschelle Gibbs half-century, however the RCB may solely handle 137/9 in 20 overs and subsequently misplaced by 6 runs.

IPL 2010:

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings, taking part in of their second last in three years, defeated the Mumbai Indians by 22 runs to win their maiden title. Suresh Raina was the star participant within the last and scored an unbeaten 35-ball 57 because the CSK scored 168/5 in 20 overs. Mumbai Indians, led by Sachin Tendulkar may solely handle 146/9 driving on a 48-run knock by the Master Blaster.

IPL 2011:

MS Dhoni took his team to a second successive win when the Chennai Super Kings defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 58 runs within the IPL 2011 last. It was a high-scoring match as CSK driving on Murali Vijay’s 52-ball 95 scored 205/5 in 20 overs and RCB may solely handle 147/8 of their chase.

IPL 2012:

Everyone was anticipating the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings to get to a hat-trick of titles however Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir had different plans. The India opener led the Kolkata-based franchise exceedingly nicely within the match and received them their maiden crown.

IPL 2013:

It was the repeat of the 2010 last and this time led by Rohit Sharma, after Ricky Ponting was relieved of the position of Mumbai Indians skipper mid-way by means of the match, the team received one again over the Chennai Super Kings.

IPL 2014:

Gautam Gambhir led the Kolkata Knight Riders to a second title, changing into the second-most profitable skipper within the match’s historical past after MS Dhoni. It was an election-year within the nation and a component of the match was moved to the UAE, however the Kolkata Knight Riders defeated first-time finalists Kings XI Punjab to win their second title.

IPL 2015:

This was the third time that the 2 sides – Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings – have been dealing with one another within the finals and the spoils had beforehand been shared by them. But Rohit Sharma-led his facet to their second title after defeating MS Dhoni’s males by 41 runs within the last.

IPL 2016:

David Warner led the Sunrisers Hyderabad to the IPL 2016 title after defeating Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore in an exciting last. This was the 12 months when Kohli was in prime type and scored 973 runs within the match by far essentially the most by any batsman in a season.

IPL 2017:

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians to their third title over the new-comers Rising Pune Supergiants in a tense end, the place the sport was received by simply 1 run.

IPL 2018:

Returning after a two-year ban, the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings checked out their finest within the season and received their third title after they beat 2016 champions Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets within the last.

IPL 2019:

It was the fourth time that Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have been dealing with one another within the finals and as soon as once more the sport didn’t disappoint. The Rohit Sharma-led facet went on to win by simply 1 run and with it they received a record-extending fourth IPL title.

IPL 2020:

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians broke their odd-year jinx by defeating the Delhi Capitals within the IPL 2020 last and occurring to elevate their fifth title. They have been by far the perfect team and completed the group phases on the prime.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.