Not Quinton de Kock’s fault: Shamsi defends South Africa wicketkeeper over Fakhar run-out, fans slam spinner

It is protected to say Fakhar Zaman’s run-out within the 2nd ODI has overshadowed a valiant effort from the Pakistan opener. Zaman waged a lone battle however fell 7 runs wanting his 2nd double hundred as Pakistan misplaced the match by 17 runs, failing to gun down a steep whole of 341.

Fakhar Zaman hit as many as 10 sixes and 18 boundaries as he single-handedly led Pakistan near the end line. His 193 got here off 155 balls and the Pakistan opener had as many as 6 balls to get previous the 200-run mark. However, he was run out within the first supply of the ultimate over of the chase.

Zaman was comfortably positioned to finish the 2nd run after he hit one in direction of the duvet boundary. However, a direct hit from the deep by Aiden Markram ended the valiant effort as he was run-out on the striker’s finish.

Replays confirmed that South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock tricked Fakhar Zaman into believing that the throw was going to the non-striker’s finish. While Zaman was nonetheless within the means of finishing the second run, de Kock seemingly raised his hand and singalled in direction of the non-striker’s finish.

South Africa vs Pakistan, 2nd ODI: Highlights

Quinton de Kock’s teammate Tabraiz Shamsi although believes that it was the South Africa wicketkeeper didn’t intentionally distract Fakhar Zaman in the course of the 2nd run. Taking to social media on Monday, Shamsi defended de Kock over the run-out that has led to divided opinions within the cricket fraternity.

“Just 2 clarify. QDK was NOT speaking 2 or pointing at the batsman,he was asking a fielder to back up at the non striker’s end. Not Quinnys fault the batman turned around 2 see instead of completing the run safely which he should have done. Stop the hate n Leave QDK alone,” Shamsi mentioned within the publish.

“So it’s not funny that the batsman stopped running instead of completing the run? Let’s not take the attention away from a great innings that he played and give him credit for that. The batsman’s job in that instance was to complete the run that all…As simple as that,” Shamsi added.

However, a bit of fans usually are not proud of Shamsi’s clarification as they argued that de Kock intentionally tried to distract Fakhar. Notably, fairly a number of, together with former Pakistan quick bowler, Waqar Younis identified that de Kock had a wry smile on his face after Fakhar was run out on 193.

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the custodians of the legal guidelines of the sport, issued a press release on Monday, saying it is to the umpires to resolve whether or not Quinton de Kock intentionally distracted Fakhar Zaman.

According to MCC’s rule “41.5 Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman”, it’s unfair for any fielder wilfully to try, by phrase or motion, to distract, deceive or impede both batsman after the striker has acquired the ball.

Meanwhile, de Kock together with the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Anridh Nortje and David Miller won’t be a part of the third ODI and the T20I sequence as they’ll be a part of their respective Indian Premier League franchise for the 14th season of IPL.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.