Virat Kohli overtakes Clive Lloyd in list of most successful captains after India’s 3rd Test win at Lord’s

Virat Kohli joined an elite list of Indian captains after his crew registered one of its most vital victories in Test cricket at the Home of Cricket on Monday. India defeated England by 151 runs in the second Test to register solely their third win at the Lord’s Cricket Ground.

Kohli grew to become the third captain after Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni to win a Test at this iconic venue. Kapil Dev achieved the feat for the primary time in 1986 earlier than Dhoni’s aspect ended India’s 28-year wait in 2014.

Kohli added his identify to the unique list to turn out to be the fourth-most successful captain in Test historical past. Kohli overtook former West Indies skipper Clive Lloyd along with his thirty seventh Test win and is now solely behind Graeme Smith (53 wins), Ricky Ponting (48 wins) and Steve Waugh (41 wins).


Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj produced the performances of their lives to show the match round on the ultimate day for India.

Shami and Bumrah first starred with the bat throughout their unbroken 89-run partnership, the very best for the ninth wicket for India vs England, to stun the hosts and put the sport away from their attain.

Shami scored 56 not out whereas Bumrah was unbeaten on 34 when Kohli declared India’s second innings at 298 for 8, setting a 272-run goal for England.

The hosts received bowled out for 120 in 51.5 overs, with all 10 wickets going to the quick bowlers for under the second time in India’s Test historical past after 1989-90.

England had been forward of India most half of this match because of Joe Root’s 180 in the primary innings however Shami, Bumrah and Siraj simply modified the tide in India’s favour on the ultimate day. Root’s twenty second Test hundred, thus, grew to become the primary occasion when he ended up on the dropping aspect regardless of scoring in triple figures.

India vs England 2nd Test: Day 5 Summary

India skittled out England for 120 in lower than two classes on a extremely charged Day 5 at Lord’s to win the second Test by 151 runs on Monday and take a 1-0 lead in the five-match collection.

With a couple of half-hour left of a fractious day that includes common verbal clashes between gamers, Mohammed Siraj bowled Jimmy Anderson and celebrated by eradicating the off stump he had simply clattered and wheeling across the outfield in delight at the house of cricket.

India declared on 298-8 simply after lunch to set England 272 to win in 60 overs. It was a victory goal the hosts by no means meant to chase, however one they couldn’t defend both.

Let’s have a look again at India’s earlier two Test wins at Lord’s.

1986 – India clinch collection 2-0

Kapil Dev led a powerful Indian crew in England and beat them convincingly because the guests clinched the collection 2-0.

The first win got here at the long-lasting Lord’s Cricket Ground when England received bundled out for 294 and 180 in each innings with Chetan Sharma selecting up a five-wicket haul in the primary innings and Kapil Dev main by instance in the second with 4 wickets. Dilip Vengsarkar’s unbeaten 126 in the primary innings was additionally one of the highlights of the match as India received by 5 wickets to claimed its maiden victory at the Mecca of cricket and take a 1-0 collection lead.

2014 – India win at Lord’s by 95 runs

MS Dhoni led the Indian crew in a five-match Test collection and delivered the primary blow on the hosts by profitable at Lord’s for the primary time after 1986.

The first Test ended in a draw at Nottingham following which the groups locked horns on a inexperienced prime at Lord’s. Ajinkya Rahane scored one of the best a whole lot in Indian Test historical past as he negotiated prodigious swing and seam motion towards the likes of James Anderson and Stuart Broad.

Ishant Sharma then produced one of the most memorable spells by an Indian bowler on English soil and picked up a file 7 wickets in the method as India bowled out England for 223 and registered a historic win at the Mecca of cricket.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.