Virat Kohli to lead 20-member India squad for World Test Championship final, England series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday introduced an 20-member Indian squad for the upcoming ICC World Test Championship ultimate which is able to happen in Southampton in June. The identical squad will then face hosts England within the subsequent five-match Test series in August.

The largest additions within the squad are that of quick bowler Mohammed Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who’ve been out of motion from worldwide cricket for a very long time due to their respective accidents. All-rounder Hardik Pandya, opener Prithvi Shaw and seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the foremost names which can be lacking from the squad.

Shami final performed for India within the Day-Night Test towards Australia in Adelaide (December, 2020) after which a damaged arm compelled him to return residence for restoration and recuperation. Jadeja additionally acquired injured on the Australian tour, fracturing his thumb within the third Test in Sydney in January this yr.

Both gamers haven’t performed Test cricket for India since their accidents however featured within the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 earlier than it acquired suspended indefinitely due to the Covid-19 disaster in India.

Apart from the above-mentioned duo, the remainder of the Indian facet stays just about the identical which beat England 3-1 within the four-match Test series at residence in February-March.

Virat Kohli will proceed to lead the Indian facet for now with Ajinkya Rahane as his deputy. Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Arzan Nagwaswalla would be the standby gamers on the tour.


The Indian batting division contains of the standard suspects with even Shubman Gill retaining his place within the squad regardless of his erratic type within the current IPL. Rohit Sharma and Gill are India’s first-choice openers with Mayank Agarwal because the backup choice.

Cheteshwar Pujara, Kohli and Rahane type the spine of the lineup within the middle-order with Rishabh Pant offering essaying the twin function of a batsman and wicketkeeper.

Wriddhiman Saha and KL Rahul would be the reserve wicketkeepers topic to health clearance. The Bengal gloveman contracted coronavirus on May 4 whereas enjoying for Sunrisers Hyderabad within the IPL 2021 whereas Punjab Kings captain Rahul was identified with acute appendicitis in the course of the event.


Axar Patel and Washington Sundar have retained their locations in addition to the crew’s all-rounders, however they both of the three may not make it to the ultimate squad due to the comeback of Ravindra Jadeja, who was within the type of his life for Chennai Super Kings with each bat and ball in IPL 2021.

Expect Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin to be India’s first-choice spinners and all-rounders in England as effectively.


India’s possibilities of victory within the WTC ultimate will rely on how the pacers carry out with the Duke balls in English circumstances subsequently, the selectors wasted no time in reuniting the lethal quartet of Ishant Sharma, Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Umesh Yadav. Mohammed Siraj, who was the chief of the tempo assault within the ultimate two Tests in Australia, would be the backup choice.

India and New Zealand certified for the WTC ultimate after ending because the top-two groups within the inaugural version which began after the ICC World Cup in August 2019. India gained 12 out of the 17 Tests they performed throughout this time interval whereas New Zealand registered 7 victories out of 11.

The WTC ultimate can be performed on the Rose Bowl in Southampton from June 18. Indian Test gamers would possibly go away for England sooner than anticipated, perhaps within the ultimate week of May amid journey restrictions within the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic.

India will play a series of 5 Tests towards England in Nottingham, London, Leeds and Manchester between August 4 and September 14 after the WTC.

Also Read | India players might leave early for England ahead of World Test Championship final


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.